Originale » Die Catchup Maus

Was ist die Catchup Maus?

Die Catchup Maus ist ein neuartiges Tiermodell, ausgezeichnet durch die hohe Neutrophilen-spezifische Expression des rot fluoreszierenden Proteins tdTomato. Diese Spezifität wird durch die Modulation des Ly6G (humanes Homolog: CD177) Locus erreicht, welches hochspezifisch von murinen Neutrophilen Granulozyten exprimiert wird. Dieses Mausmodell erlaubt es daher nicht nur Methoden wie intravitale Mikroskopie oder Durchflusszytometrie an unberührten und ungefärbten Neutrophilen in verschiedenen Gesundheits- und Krankheitsmodellen anzuwenden, sondern erlaubt, durch sein Cre-lox Konstrukt, erstmalig auch die hochspezifische genetische Modifikation von murinen Neutrophilen. (Zur Originalpublikation: Hasenberg et al. Catchup: a mouse model for imaging-based tracking and modulation of neutrophil granulocytes).

Wie funktioniert die Catchup Maus?

Da Ly6G ein sehr selektiv exprimierter Marker auf murinen Neutrophilen ist, wurde er als potentielles Zielgen in Betracht gezogen. Im ersten Schritt wurde eine Mauslinie generiert, in der das erste Exon von Ly6g durch ein Knock-In Allel ersetzt wurde, das für die Cre Rekombinase (siehe dazu: Cre-lox system) und das Fluoreszenzprotein tdTomato, separiert durch ein selbst splicendes T2A Peptid, codierte. (Abbildung 1) Heterozygote Mäuse exprimieren sowohl tdTomato als auch Ly6G, während homozygote Tiere kein Ly6G exprimieren.
Abbildung 1. Catchup, ein Mausmodell für die genetische Manipulation von Neutrophilen Granulozyten. Strategie für die Generierung der Catchup Mäuse. Ex, Exon.

Für Labore und Institute, die Interesse an unserer Mauslinie haben:

Die Catchup Tiere werden von unserem Institut in Essen, Deutschland, aus verschickt. Falls diese Mausmodell für Ihre Forschung interessant sein könnte, zögern Sie bitte nicht sich mit Prof. Dr. Matthias Gunzer (matthias.gunzer@uni-due.de) direkt in Verbindung zu setzen. Er wird Sie an die verantwortliche Person weiterleiten, die Ihnen bei allen aufkommenden Fragen den Transport oder Formalitäten betreffend weiterhelfen wird.

Originals » The Catchup Mouse

What is the Catchup mouse?

The Catchup mouse is a novel animal model for highly neutrophil specific expression of the red fluorescent protein tdTomato. This specificity is achieved by modulation of the Ly6G (human homolog: CD177) locus, which is highly specific for neutrophil granulocytes in mice. Therefore, this mouse model not only allows intravital microscopy or flow cytometry of untouched and unstained neutrophils in various health and disease models, but, due to the features of the Cre-lox contruct, opens up the unique opportunity for a highly specific genetic modification of murine neutrophils. (For the original publication see: Hasenberg et al. Catchup: a mouse model for imaging-based tracking and modulation of neutrophil granulocytes)

How does the Catchup mouse work?

As Ly6G is a marker selectively expressed by murine neutrophils, it was considered a suitable target. The first step was the generation of a mouse line in which the first exon of Ly6g is replaced by a knock-in allele encoding the Cre recombinase (see also: Cre-lox system) and the fluorescent protein tdTomato separated by a self-splicing T2A peptide. (Figure 1) Heterozygous mice express both tdTomato and Ly6G, while homozygous mice lack Ly6G expression completely.
Figure 1. Catchup, a mouse model for the genetic manipulation of neutrophils. Targeting strategy for the generation of Catchup mice. Ex, exon.

For laboratories and institutes interested in our mouse line:

The Catchup mouse model is available for shipping from our institute in Essen, Germany. If you are interested in obtaining this mouse line for your research, do not hesitate to ask Prof. Dr. Matthias Gunzer (matthias.gunzer@uni-due.de) directly. He will refer you to the people responsible for mouse shipping, who will help you regarding all arising questions.